top of page



2023 Iowa Holstein Convention & Details 

Saturday, February 25, 2023

Promiseland Winery,  Guttenberg, IA

Schedule of Events:

1:30 p.m.       Iowa Holstein Association Annual Meeting (Corey Geiger - Holstein USA will be in attendance

3:00 p.m.       Standing Committee Meetings

4:00 p.m.       Iowa Holstein Association Board Meeting

6:00 p.m.       Social Hour 

7:00 p.m.       Banquet, Awards, Princess Crowning


RSVP's are due Friday, February 17th. Tickets are $20.00 per person. RSVP's should be sent to Lynnette Lyons at 131 Military Road, Castilia, IA 52133. Please make checks payable to District 1 Holstein Association. If you have any questions, please contact Lynnette at or at 563.419.1256. 

The Auxiliary will have another silent auction. In order to make this auction a success, we need to have as many items donated as possible. Start searching around so we have a variety of items to sell. 

2021 Iowa Holstein Convention

February 27- Community Center, Delaware County Fairgrounds, Manchester
2:00 pm - Annual Meeting
3:00-3:15 pm - Break
3:15-4:00 pm - Committee Meetings
4-5:30 pm - Board Meeting
6-7:00 pm - Social Hour
7:00 pm - Banquet
Banquet Tickets - $20 per person
Reservations can be called into Shirley & Tom Simon at 563-744-3134. Leave a message with the name and number of people. Checks can be made out to Iowa Holstein Association and sent to Shirley Simon, 10644 Cemetery Road, Farley, IA 52046. Please have reservations called in by Saturday, February 20.
CDC, State & Delaware County Fairgrounds Covid-19 protocols will be followed for the event.



2020 Iowa Holstein Convention

The 2020 Iowa Holstein Convention was held on February 22 at the Country Junction Restaurant in Dyersville.

Linda Pagel presented the Master Breeder Award given in memory of Russel Pagel to Ted Becker at the start of the annual meeting. Approximately 35 members were present for the meeting. Officers elected for 2020 are Carl Mensen, President; Dan Moon, Vice President; and Kevin Fossum, Trent Henkes, Mark Knudtson, Larry Landsgard, Heather Moore and Tom Simon as Directors-at-Large. Following the standing and ad hoc committee reports, Jodi Hoynoski presented the State of the Association report and highlighted other National Association activities and programs. If you would like to view the video clips from the 2020 National Member Update Meeting held in Hartford, CT, click here. Mitch Schulte and Doug Carroll reported on Midwest Dairy activities and programs.

Following the annual meeting, the standing committees met followed by the board reorganization meeting. Kevin Fossum, Paul Stempfle and Walt Wessel were elected to serve on the Executive Committee.

The Banquet was attended by approximately 70 people. The emcee for the evening was Katie Stoll. Amber Engelken was crowned the 2020 Iowa Holstein Princess. The 2020 Iowa Holstein Auxiliary Scholarship recipients were Amanda Dougherty and Brylie Volker. Brylie was also the recipient of the Iowa Holstein Association Scholarship.

Dennis Devore recognized the recipients of the Progressive Breeders Registry and Progressive Genetic Herd Awards. The Linda Pagel Scholarship was presented to Blake Courtney. Chad and Erin Hunt were the recipients of the Outstanding Young Holstein Breeder Award. Carl Mensen presented the Distinguished Service Award to Leon Sigwarth.

Next year's State Convention will be hosted by the State Association with a date and location to be determined yet.

Outstanding Young Holstein Breeder Award

Master Breeder Award

Distinguished Service Award

bottom of page